top of page

King Krule – Alone, Omen 3

Album: Alone, Omen 3

Artist: King Krule

Sub-Genres: #ArtRock

Label: N/A

Non-Airable Tracks: N/A

Description: Is it me, or is music melting?

If one listens to the older stuff of Psychadelic Rock, or it’s then-contemporary cousin, Prog Rock, there’s less distortion! This is also the same with Rap, as beats have become more and more abstract and less sampled; Earl Sweatshirt, Tropical Fuck Storm, Tame Impala… all of these artists are big names with big audience bases, and they have been riding the distortion wave to artistic stardom. King Krule is also apparently someone with a big audience base (3 million). As a disclaimer, I haven’t listened much to King Krule, nor am I a Krule fan. My experience with Neo-Psychedelia ends with its wonderfully weird blending with Shoegaze in Kairon;Irse.

And so when a single like this is listened to by a relative newcomer like me, I don’t… think I can appreciate it for what it is. It sounds like… soup. Guitar soup. I can detect some finagling with the guitar, and some finagling with the rhythm, and sure, the lyrics are about the same kind of lonely love stuff… but I’m just not convinced that this is anything special. It’s not bad, but it’s not something that jumps out, and for five minutes, it’s woefully short. It didn’t make much of an impression on me, but perhaps being a Neo-Psychadelic junkie would make this more enjoyable for a potential listener.

Rating:

Base Rating: 5/10

Cool Guitar Picking in the First Track: +1

Final Rating: 6/10

Sounds Like: Like that one bit on the Jimi Hendrix Experience where’s he’s playing guitar and you can just feel the LSD bleed through your headphones

Reviewer’s Name: Abraham Aruguete

Date of Review: 02-14-2020

22 views
bottom of page